Occultation of Saturn by the Moon

Today, 14th May 2014, Saturn is occulted by the Moon, although this can only be seen from most Australia and New Zealand. I’ve set up my telescope in the backyard and now I’m taking some photos of the event. Although I’ll try to get better images later, let me show you what I’m obtaining now.

These three images show how Saturn is moving closer to the Moon:

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/60. This is just a single frame obtained at 20:44 AEST (10:44 UT). I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/60. This is just a single frame obtained at 21:12 AEST (11:12 UT). I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/60. This is just a single frame obtained at 21:18 AEST (11:18 UT), the planet is “touching” the disc of the Moon. I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

After that, I waited for 40 minutes to see Saturn reappears behind the Moon, as it is shown is the next three photos:

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/100. This is just a single frame obtained at 21:59 AEST (11:59 UT). I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/100. This is just a single frame obtained at 22:05 AEST (12:05 UT). I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

Occultation of Saturn by the Moon, as observed from my backyard in Sydney. I used my Skywatcher Black Diamond Telescope D = 80 mm, f = 600 mm and my CANON EOS 600D, and a 20mm eyepiece projection, at 1600 ISO and speed 1/100. This is just a single frame obtained at 22:15 AEST (12:15 UT). I also used Photoshop to play with the levels/colours/saturation. Credit: Angel R. López-Sánchez.

In the next few days I’ll prepare some few better (processed) images. Stay tuned!

About these ads

3 responses to “Occultation of Saturn by the Moon

  1. Pingback: Allgemeines Live-Blog ab dem 11. Mai 2014 | Skyweek Zwei Punkt Null

  2. Pingback: Sequence of the occultation of Saturn by the Moon | The Lined Wolf

  3. Pingback: Visions of a Total Lunar Eclipse within clouds | The Lined Wolf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s